Life Long Learning

Posted: October 19, 2015 in Uncategorized

When thinking about lifelong learning as a professional, isnt it essential to start with the basics? How do we learn to learn?

What a concept. The idea struck me that I never have been given the tools to learn how to learn. Never has an instructor spent the time to make me think about Metacognition or learning habits. I dont believe that I’ve ever asked myself these questions either. It’s been an interesting introduction into thinking about thinking. Now helping others think about thinking.

A video that resonates with me is from a Tedx Talk. Learning How to Learn from Barbara Oakley spends time to break down this concept and how people can be successful. She speaks about procrastination… an area I am all to familiar with. When reflecting on her suggestions of the Pomodoro Technique, I realized I do this in my office environment. Why not in an academic sense?

Maybe I should be spending some more time thinking about thinking (and not procrastinating thinking about thinking!)

Leave a Reply

